Byron wins second consecutive Truck Series race

William Byron celebrates his third win of the season Saturday night at Iowa.
William Byron celebrates his third win of the season Saturday night at Iowa.
William Byron celebrates his third win of the season Saturday night at Iowa.

NEWTON, Iowa – Following his second NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win of the season last weekend at Texas Motor Speedway, Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender William Byron used a late race restart and three-wide pass to charge from fourth to first to win Saturday night’s Speediatrics 200 at Iowa Speedway.

Byron, driving the No. 9 Liberty University Toyota Tundra, swiped the lead from Cole Custer on a restart with nine laps remaining, but a caution six laps from the finish saw the Charlotte, North Carolina, native have to defend his presence at the front.

In a two-lap shootout, the 18-year-old Byron fended off challengers Custer and Cameron Hayley for a series-high third win in just his ninth Truck Series start.

“My gosh, it’s awesome just to be a part of Kyle Busch Motorsports and to have the group of guys I do,” said Byron from Victory Lane. “It’s amazing. I’m so fortunate to be in this position.

“We had a couple setbacks there. I stalled it on pit road and I had a few setbacks on some restarts, but we kept after it until that last restart. It’s awesome.”

Custer, with new crew chief Marcus Richmond, led three dramatic laps following a Lap 188 restart which saw the race lead exchange several times before Byron sailed away permanently on Lap 191.

“For the first 10 laps or so, the others were probably better than us on four tires,” said Custer, who recorded his season best finish. “After that it kind of equaled out. I thought I had them there when I took the lead.

“I can’t thank Marcus and everyone enough. They worked their tails off all weekend. I really appreciate that. I think we’re going in the right direction.”

Byron, who led a race-high 107 laps, took the lead from pole sitter John Hunter Nemechek on a Lap 54 restart and led until the event’s third caution.

The running order changed dramatically following a caution on Lap 146 when five teams elected to take two tires during the final pit stop, handing the lead to Tyler Reddick.

During the stop, Byron stalled his truck leaving pit road putting him 10th on the restart. Using four tires to combat his mistake, the NASCAR NEXT alumnus began carving his path through the field and found himself back in contention when the fourth yellow of the night waved just 24 laps from the checkered flag.

The event was red flagged for five minutes, 46 seconds for track cleanup after an incident involving Caleb Holman and Derek Scott Jr. on Lap 174 .

Next up for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series is a stop at Gateway Motorsports Park for the running of the third annual Drivin’ for Linemen 200 on Jun. 25.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Race – Speediatrics 200

Iowa Speedway

Newton, Iowa

Saturday, June 18, 2016

1. (5) William Byron #, Toyota, 200.

2. (11) Cole Custer #, Chevrolet, 200.

3. (2) Cameron Hayley, Toyota, 200.

4. (10) Ben Rhodes #, Toyota, 200.

5. (15) Tyler Reddick, Ford, 200.

6. (17) Daniel Suarez(i), Toyota, 200.

7. (3) Ben Kennedy, Chevrolet, 200.

8. (9) Matt Crafton, Toyota, 200.

9. (13) Christopher Bell #, Toyota, 200.

10. (7) Johnny Sauter, Chevrolet, 200.

11. (19) Timothy Peters, Toyota, 200.

12. (1) John H Nemechek, Chevrolet, 200.

13. (16) Spencer Gallagher, Chevrolet, 200.

14. (25) German Quiroga, Toyota, 200.

15. (18) Daniel Hemric, Ford, 200.

16. (22) Austin Wayne Self #, Toyota, 200.

17. (6) Brandon Jones(i), Chevrolet, 200.

18. (14) Rico Abreu #, Toyota, 200.

19. (20) John Wes Townley, Chevrolet, 200.

20. (26) Jordan Anderson, Chevrolet, 200.

21. (23) Jake Griffin, Chevrolet, 199.

22. (29) Casey Smith, Chevrolet, 198.

23. (8) Nick Drake, Chevrolet, 197.

24. (24) Brandon Brown, Chevrolet, 197.

25. (27) Derek Scott Jr, Chevrolet, 196.

26. (12) Caleb Holman, Chevrolet, Accident, 192.

27. (28) Travis Kvapil, Chevrolet, 191.

28. (31) Jennifer Jo Cobb, Chevrolet, 191.

29. (4) Kaz Grala, Chevrolet, 189.

30. (30) Tommy Joe Martins, Chevrolet, Accident, 173.

31. (21) Parker Kligerman, Ford, Accident, 41.

32. (32) Claire Decker(i), Chevrolet, Fuel Pump, 5.

Average Speed of Race Winner:  92.702 mph.

Time of Race:  01 Hrs, 53 Mins, 16 Secs. Margin of Victory:  0.431 Seconds.

Caution Flags:  5 for 39 laps.

Lead Changes:  4 among 4 drivers.

Lap Leaders:   J. Nemechek 1-53; W. Byron # 54-150; T. Reddick 151-187; C. Custer # 188-190; W. Byron # 191-200.

Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led):  W. Byron # 2 times for 107 laps; J. Nemechek 1 time for 53 laps; T. Reddick 1 time for 37 laps; C. Custer # 1 time for 3 laps.

Top 10 in Points: M. Crafton – 219; W. Byron # – 208; T. Peters – 198; D. Hemric – 186; T. Reddick – 182; J. Nemechek – 175; J. Sauter – 174; B. Kennedy – 168; S. Gallagher – 165; C. Hayley – 158.


Greg Engle
About Greg Engle 7421 Articles
Greg is a published award winning sportswriter who spent 23 years combined active and active reserve military service, much of that in and around the Special Operations community. Greg is the author of "The Nuts and Bolts of NASCAR: The Definitive Viewers' Guide to Big-Time Stock Car Auto Racing" and has been published in major publications across the country including the Los Angeles Times, the Cleveland Plain Dealer and the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. He was also a contributor to Chicken Soup for the NASCAR Soul, published in 2010, and the Christmas edition in 2016. He wrote as the NASCAR, Formula 1, Auto Reviews and National Veterans Affairs Examiner for and has appeared on Fox News. He holds a BS degree in communications, a Masters degree in psychology and is currently a PhD candidate majoring in psychology. He is currently the weekend Motorsports Editor for Autoweek.