NASCAR tweaks eligibility and lengthens All-Star Race

NASCAR announced changes Wednesday to its annual All-Star race. The non-points event will be held at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 16th and is meant to showcase NASCAR’s top talent. The eligibility and format for event has changed through the years and this season is no different. This will be the 31st running of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race. McMurray is the defending race winner.

The field will include race winners from the 2014 and 2015 seasons, as well as all former NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race winners and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champions who are full-time competitors. Previously only past All-Star race winner and champions from the previous ten years were eligible. The winner of the event will take home a $1 million prize.

This year’s race will also be the longest in recent years. The race will be increased by twenty laps and spilt up into five segments each segment will have extra laps, 25 up from 20, with the final segment a ten lap shootout for a total of 110 laps MORE>>>