NASCAR Sprint Unlimited eligibility for 2016 ensures stars will shine at Daytona


The first on-track competition for the NASCAR Sprint Cup series will have 25 eligible drivers and a familiar format.  NASCAR announced the format and the eligible drivers Monday for the season opening non-points Sprint Unlimited exhibition race at Daytona International Speedway on February 13. The race will consist of 75 laps and will use the same format and eligibility as last season.

“We’re ready to go,” said NASCAR Executive Vice President and Chief Racing Development Officer Steve O’Donnell. “The anticipation for this season, this event and this venue is unprecedented. We are excited how the new stadium will provide a state-of-the-art showcase for the brightest stars of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.”

The race will mark the NASCAR debut of the Daytona Rising project MORE>>>