NASCAR reveals 2017 Hall of Fame nominees

(Photos NASCAR/Greg Engle)
(Photos NASCAR/Greg Engle)
(Photos NASCAR/Greg Engle)

NASCAR announced the 20 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s Class of 2017 Wednesday evening along with the five nominees for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.  Of the 20 names, there are five first-time nominees

The five first timers are: Four-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday Jr.; the man with the most car owner wins in NASCAR national series history with 322, Jack Roush; former all-time consecutive starts leader Ricky Rudd; legendary motorsports broadcasting pioneer Ken Squier; and three-time premier series champion engine builder and three-time Daytona 500-winning crew chief Waddell Wilson.

The nominees were selected by a nominating committee  made up of representatives from NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from both major facilities and historic short tracks and one member of  media. The committee’s votes were tabulated by accounting firm Ernst & Young.


Greg Engle
About Greg Engle 7421 Articles
Greg is a published award winning sportswriter who spent 23 years combined active and active reserve military service, much of that in and around the Special Operations community. Greg is the author of "The Nuts and Bolts of NASCAR: The Definitive Viewers' Guide to Big-Time Stock Car Auto Racing" and has been published in major publications across the country including the Los Angeles Times, the Cleveland Plain Dealer and the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. He was also a contributor to Chicken Soup for the NASCAR Soul, published in 2010, and the Christmas edition in 2016. He wrote as the NASCAR, Formula 1, Auto Reviews and National Veterans Affairs Examiner for and has appeared on Fox News. He holds a BS degree in communications, a Masters degree in psychology and is currently a PhD candidate majoring in psychology. He is currently the weekend Motorsports Editor for Autoweek.