Tyler Reddick Scores First Win for Young Big Machine Racing Team

FORT WORTH, TEXAS - MAY 21: Tyler Reddick, driver of the #48 Big Machine Racing/JAG Metals Chevrolet, celebrates with a burnout after winning the NASCAR Xfinity Series SRS Distribution 250 at Texas Motor Speedway on May 21, 2022 in Fort Worth, Texas. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Tyler Reddick ran the Xfinity Series race at Texas to provide some feedback for a partner team. Big Machine Racing is a partner organization of his Richard Childress Racing team, owned by racing enthusiast Scott Borchetta’s record label. Reddick’s feedback must have worked, as he scored his tenth Xfinity Series win and the young team’s first-ever win on Saturday.

“Nobody at RCR was really happy with where the cars are at, and I wanted to help and try and make these cars get better and try to figure out what we need to do to get back up front,” said Reddick. “And we figured it out pretty quick, I guess!”

“Just a huge opportunity and thank you to Big Machine Racing, [the car] was just so good,” he added.

FORT WORTH, TEXAS – MAY 21: Josh Berry, driver of the #8 Jarrett Industries Chevrolet, and Justin Allgaier, driver of the #7 hellowater Chevrolet, race during the NASCAR Xfinity Series SRS Distribution 250 at Texas Motor Speedway on May 21, 2022 in Fort Worth, Texas. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Reddick led fellow Cup driver William Byron, who was racing in a fifth JR Motorsports entry, to cross the checkered flag at Texas Motor Speedway. JR Motorsports teammates and Justin Allgaier finished third and fourth respectively.

Riley Herbst, the top-finishing Ford driver in sixth, said: “We just struggled with speed a little bit and we had some struggles on pit stops which put is back a few times. We were able to work our way back up inside the top-10 though, so that is good. We will take this and work on some things for Charlotte.”

FORT WORTH, TEXAS – MAY 21: Matt Mills, driver of the #5 J.F. Electric Chevrolet, and Josh Berry, driver of the #8 Jarrett Industries Chevrolet, spins after an on-track incident during the NASCAR Xfinity Series SRS Distribution 250 at Texas Motor Speedway on May 21, 2022 in Fort Worth, Texas. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Noah Gragson did not have the same luck has his JR Motorsports teammates, though. After an accident early, he finished 36th, which won’t help his championship efforts. He currently sits second in the standings.

“I guess the only positive is we got a Playoff point for the stage win,” Gragson said. “Good to see the other JRM cars running strong. Just a bummer. We’ve been doing awesome, just disappointed. We were pretty quick and was just biding our time.”

Gragson will be hoping for redemption when the Xfinity Series returns to Charlotte Motor Speedway next weekend.

Photos: NASCAR at Texas Motor Speedway Saturday May 21, 2022

NASCAR Xfinity Series Race – 26th Annual SRS Distribution 250
Texas Motor Speedway
Fort Worth, Texas
Saturday, May 21, 2022

1. (2) Tyler Reddick(i), Chevrolet, 167.
2. (15) William Byron(i), Chevrolet, 167.
3. (9) Sam Mayer, Chevrolet, 167.
4. (6) Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, 167.
5. (3) Austin Hill #, Chevrolet, 167.
6. (5) Ryan Truex, Toyota, 167.
7. (8) Josh Berry, Chevrolet, 167.
8. (10) Riley Herbst, Ford, 167.
9. (13) AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 167.
10. (38) Landon Cassill, Chevrolet, 167.
11. (11) Daniel Hemric, Chevrolet, 167.
12. (7) Ty Gibbs, Toyota, 167.
13. (20) Jeb Burton, Chevrolet, 167.
14. (4) Brandon Jones, Toyota, 167.
15. (23) Brandon Brown, Chevrolet, 167.
16. (19) Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, 167.
17. (18) Stefan Parsons, Chevrolet, 167.
18. (25) Mason Massey, Chevrolet, 167.
19. (35) Jeffrey Earnhardt, Toyota, 167.
20. (24) Josh Williams, Chevrolet, 167.
21. (29) David Starr, Ford, 167.
22. (26) Myatt Snider, Chevrolet, 167.
23. (27) Joe Graf Jr, Ford, 167.
24. (22) Bayley Currey, Chevrolet, 167.
25. (36) CJ McLaughlin, Ford, 166.
26. (21) Sheldon Creed #, Chevrolet, 166.
27. (33) Timmy Hill(i), Toyota, 166.
28. (30) Patrick Emerling, Chevrolet, 164.
29. (16) Brett Moffitt, Chevrolet, Track Bar, 148.
30. (28) Ryan Ellis, Chevrolet, Accident, 146.
31. (14) JJ Yeley, Ford, Accident, 137.
32. (37) Anthony Alfredo, Chevrolet, Accident, 137.
33. (32) Alex Labbe, Chevrolet, Accident, 137.
34. (17) Jesse Iwuji #, Chevrolet, Accident, 137.
35. (12) Ryan Sieg, Ford, Accident, 129.
36. (1) Noah Gragson, Chevrolet, Accident, 95.
37. (34) Matt Mills, Chevrolet, Accident, 87.
38. (31) Ryan Vargas, Chevrolet, Engine, 21.

Average Speed of Race Winner: 101.497 mph.
Time of Race: 2 Hrs, 28 Mins, 5 Secs. Margin of Victory: 1.825 Seconds.
Caution Flags: 11 for 62 laps.
Lead Changes: 8 among 7 drivers.
Lap Leaders: N. Gragson 1-21;J. Allgaier 22-30;N. Gragson 31-41;J. Berry 42-87;J. Allgaier 88-111;W. Byron(i) 112-118;A. Hill # 119-134;B. Jones 135-136;T. Reddick(i) 137-167.
Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led): Josh Berry 1 time for 46 laps; Justin Allgaier 2 times for 33 laps; Noah Gragson 2 times for 32 laps; Tyler Reddick(i) 1 time for 31 laps; Austin Hill # 1 time for 16 laps; William Byron(i) 1 time for 7 laps; Brandon Jones 1 time for 2 laps.
Stage #1 Top Ten: 9,7,16,19,21,1,2,23,66,31
Stage #2 Top Ten: 8,7,88,48,9,18,1,98,21,27

Owen Johnson