NASCAR Suspends 10 Crew Members across Cup, Xfinity Series

DOVER, DELAWARE - MAY 02: Denny Hamlin, driver of the #11 FedEx Office Toyota, drives without the left front tire after a pit stop during the NASCAR Cup Series DuraMAX Drydene 400 presented by RelaDyne at Dover Motor Speedway on May 02, 2022 in Dover, Delaware. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Tuesday, as was widely expected, NASCAR issued crewmember suspensions to two Cup series teams and a Xfinity series team after cars lost wheels during the races at Dover Motor Speedway.

The No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota team for driver Denny Hamlin and the No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet team of AJ Allmendinger were each issued penalties for improperly installed wheels. The safety violations resulted in suspensions for the next four points paying races to the following crewmembers:

  • No. 11 team: Crew chief Chris Gabehart, jackman Derrell Edwards, front-tire changer Blake Houston
  • No. 16 team: Crew chief Matt Swiderski, front-tire changer Keiston France, jackman Jonathan Willard

In the Xfinity Series, the JR Motorsports No. 1 Chevrolet team with driver Sam Mayer was hit with four-race suspensions to three crew members for the loss of a wheel during Saturday’s Xfinity race. Crew chief Taylor Moyer and crew members Orane Ossowski (rear changer) and Markus Pierce-Brewster (jack) were suspended for the next four races.

Also in the Xfinity series, the No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet team was fined for having one unsecured lug nut in a post-race check. Crew chief Bruce Schlicker was fined $5,000.

Additionally, NASCAR officials announced an indefinite suspension to Jason Houghtaling, the result of a behavioral penalty under Sections 4.4.e of the Rule Book (NASCAR Member Code of Conduct). Houghtaling had been listed as the crew chief of Jesse Iwuji Motorsports’ No. 34 entry on team rosters for the first eight races of the season.

Greg Engle