NASCAR Announces 2022 Cup Series Schedule

On the heels of its announcement of moving the Clash from Daytona to Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, NASCAR revealed its 2022 NASCAR Cup schedule Wednesday.

Highlights include changes in the Playoff races that move Richmond Raceway out of the final 10 races replacing it with a race at Homestead-Miami Speedway, the loss of one race at Pocono which hosted a doubleheader this season and replacing that second race the addition of a Cup race at World Wide Technology Raceway/Gateway in St. Louis.

The points paying season will begin with the Daytona 500 on Sunday Feb. 20 and end at Phoenix Raceway on Nov. 6. The Circuit of The Americas race will be held on Sunday Mar. 27 and the Bristol Dirt Race will return on Sunday Apr. 17, Easter, a holiday which hasn’t had a Cup series race since 1989. The Bristol Dirt Race will also be held at night. With no Olympics, there will be only a single week break, that coming in June after Sonoma.

Darlington will again set the field for the Playoffs, and Bristol will be the elimination race. The All-Star Race will again be held at Texas Motor Speedway and will hold the opening race in the second round of the Playoffs in September. The Charlotte ROVAL will again be the elimination race for round 2 and Martinsville will set the final 4.

“As we demonstrated last year, we are committed to creating the most dynamic schedule for our fans, long term,” said Ben Kennedy, NASCAR senior vice president of strategy and innovation. “With the addition of new and unique venues like the Coliseum and World Wide Technology Raceway, each in markets with passionate NASCAR fans, we’re continuing to build on bold changes to deliver the best racing in the world.

“This latest iteration of the schedule should lend itself to another season filled with drama and great racing on the track, starting with the DAYTONA 500 and culminating with NASCAR Championship Weekend at Phoenix Raceway.”


 DATE Race/Track
Sunday, February 6 Clash (L.A. Memorial Coliseum)
Thursday, February 17 Duel at Daytona
Sunday, February 20 DAYTONA 500
Sunday, February 27 Auto Club
Sunday, March 6 Las Vegas
Sunday, March 13 Phoenix
Sunday, March 20 Atlanta
Sunday, March 27 COTA
Sunday, April 3 Richmond
Saturday, April 9 Martinsville
Sunday, April 17 Bristol Dirt
Sunday, April 24 Talladega
Sunday, May 1 Dover
Sunday, May 8 Darlington
Sunday, May 15 Kansas
Sunday, May 22 All-Star (Texas)
Sunday, May 29 Charlotte
Sunday, June 5 World Wide Technology Raceway
Sunday, June 12 Sonoma
Sunday, June 26 Nashville Superspeedway
Sunday, July 3 Road America
Sunday, July 10 Atlanta
Sunday, July 17 New Hampshire
Sunday, July 24 Pocono
Sunday, July 31 Indianapolis Road Course
Sunday, August 7 Michigan
Sunday, August 14 Richmond
Sunday, August 21 Watkins Glen
Saturday, August 27 Daytona
Sunday, September 4 Darlington
Sunday, September 11 Kansas
Saturday, September 17 Bristol
Sunday, September 25 Texas
Sunday, October 2 Talladega
Sunday, October 9 Charlotte Roval
Sunday, October 16 Las Vegas
Sunday, October 23 Homestead-Miami
Sunday, October 30 Martinsville
Sunday, November 6 Phoenix