Dale Earnhardt Jr. wins 10th consecutive Most Popular Driver Award

Dale Earnhardt Jr., driver of the #88 Diet Mt. Dew Chevrolet, stands on stage during NASCAR After The Lap at PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino on November 29, 2012 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won a tenth consecutive NASCAR Most Popular Driver award presented by the National Motorsports Press Association. The award, given annually since 1956, is Earnhardt Jr.’s 10th consecutive honor and was presented to him Thursday during the NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Luncheon at The Encore at Wynn in Las Vegas.

“It was an honor to hear that I won this year and am now tied with Bill (Elliott) for 10 in a row,” Earnhardt Jr. said. “I’ve enjoyed this award because it’s a testament to my fans. I appreciate their loyalty and dedication.”

Fans voted from February to September this past year. The top 10 drivers that earned the most votes were then reset to zero. Kyle Busch, Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Bobby Labonte and Tony Stewart were all finalists who fans voted for during the final 10 weeks of the NASCAR Sprint Cup season. After more than 934,000 votes were cast this season, Earnhardt Jr. proved once again to be the fans’ favorite. Completing the voting, in order, were Gordon, Kahne, Stewart, Johnson, Harvick, Kyle Busch, Edwards, Kenseth and Labonte. MORE>>>


This entry was posted in Main Page, NASCAR News, Top Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.

Shop for Jimmie Johnson 2016 Sprint Cup Champion

Shop for Jimmie Johnson 2016 Sprint Cup Champion