Racecars Will Be Lit (Literally) for NASCAR’s All-Star Race

The NASCAR All-Star Race has always been a place to experiment.  With no points on the line, NASCAR has always tried different things throughout the years including different engine and aero packages. This year however NASCAR will be trying some things that will be a bit more visible to fans.

Of course, the big change to the All-Star Race is the move to Bristol Motor Speedway, and it was already announced that a choose rule also will be in effect. The rule used at short tracks for years is a rule that says when drivers approach a designated spot on the track, they must commit to the inside or outside lane for the restart. Failure to make a clear choice or changing lanes after the designated spot will result in a tail-of-the-field penalty.

Cars will also have a different placement for numbers with the numbers appearing just ahead of the rear wheels instead of on the door. Thursday NASCAR confirmed that underglow lighting will beneath the machines as well already locked into the show.

The underglow lights were first used by Chip Ganassi Racing at Nashville during Champion’s Week 2019, adding a special flair to the Burnouts on Broadway event.

The one-race experiment comes at the request of the teams, who will use the newfound prime real estate for sponsorship integrations.

To be eligible to compete in the All-Star Race, full-time drivers must have: won a 2019 or 2020 Cup Series race; won a previous All-Star Race; or be a former Cup Series champion. Drivers currently eligible include Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Chase Elliot, Justin Haley, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Erik Jones, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Ryan Newman and Martin Truex Jr.

The final four spots in the All-Star Race field will be reserved for the two stage winners and race winner from the All-Star Open as well as the winner of the All-Star Fan Vote.

The All-Star Race is next Wednesday night at Bristol. The NASCAR All-Star Open and NASCAR All-Star Race will be telecast live in prime time on FS1, FOX Deportes and the FOX Sports app starting at 7:00 p.m. ET.

Greg Engle